Association News

Fire and Security Industry Awards open to nominations

Fire and Security Industry Awards open to nominations

Fire & Security Association calls on industry to put forward deserving individuals    

The fire, emergency and security industry is being urged to nominate outstanding individuals, who have changed the sector for the better, for this year’s FSA Awards.

The two awards, which are being presented again at the industry-leading IFSEC ‘Security and Fire Excellence Awards’ on 22 November in London, are as follows:

  • The Peter Greenwood Security Award – recognises individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the security systems industry. Last year’s winner was Andy Gilmore of AAI Security for 25 years’ of upholding technical standards.
  • The Ian Marsh Fire Award – recognises individuals who demonstrate enthusiasm and selfless concern for the fire and emergency systems industry. Last year’s winner was Chris Watts of Wavelength Associates, notably for his commitment to emergency lighting.

Head of the FSA Steve Martin commented:

“The FSA is delighted to announce that nominations are open for our sector-leading awards, and we urge anyone involved in fire, emergency and security to put forward outstanding individuals.

“There have been many deserving winners of both the Peter Greenwood Security Award and the Ian Marsh Fire Award, and we look forward to recognising another duo of industry champions this year.”

The FSA consists of members of the ECA, the leading electrotechnical and engineering trade association, and Scottish electrical trade body SELECT – although the awards are open to the entire industry. 2017 marks the 10th birthday of the FSA.

The FSA is an official partner at IFSEC’s ‘Security and Fire Excellence Awards’, which is the most prestigious event on the industry calendar. The winners of both FSA awards (plus one guest each) will be given free places on the FSA’s table on the evening.

The deadline for FSA Award nominations is Friday 15 September at 5pm. The nominations will be reviewed by an independent panel of judges in the autumn. For more details, or to nominate an individual for either award, please click here.

Published June 2017